Can we Really “deploy” Toyota Kata in Software Development?

I have been struggling with this for a few months now. I tried the PDCA Toyota Kata with my team and it really was so very very akward and seemed so unnatural that it became very contrived and died out very quickly.

My colleagues are using it and talk it up a lot but when I talk to individuals in their teams they mention “hmmmm its not really fitting in with Thought work”

I spoke to our In house Agile coach and he suggested we define a Kata for ourselves …. Yes nice idea  – where do I start?

I put my worrying and procrastinating aside for a while as I was getting nowhere.

But look what I have found …

http://blog.crisp.se/2013/05/14/jimmyjanlen/improvement-theme-simple-and-practical-toyota-kata

I just loved it and it gave me renewed energy. THIS seems so practical and something the teams will be much more comfortable doing. It seems so simple. I will try it ( and of course report back 🙂 )

Thank you (as always) Crisp!

One thought on “Can we Really “deploy” Toyota Kata in Software Development?

Leave a Reply

